If a post is unpublished, it will trigger an "access denied" error for users who try to access it, except for administrators. When appropriate, try to use the "archived" setting instead.
A post is considered "unpublished" when the "publish" checkbox is unchecked.
By marking this post as archived you will remove it from displaying on any channel on the site. It will still be accessible via its URL, via search (if the user chooses to search archived content) and optionally on any post where it has listed as a bundled or related post. It may also display an optional "This post has been archived and may contain content which is out of date."
A post is considered "Archived" when the "Archived" checkbox is checked.
When checked, a site visitor will see the following message on any post that is "Archived".